SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Looooooong time lurker, finally decided to join in on the fun :D

I can get a BRAND NEW Duke 390 for $5k, with ABS! If I drop $2k into that, it would be pretty amazing I would think (floating rotors, exhaust, lighter wheels, etc).

I'm not interested in the Duke 690 as its double the price, I figure I can make a much better 390 if I drop $4k into it.

Should I go this route, or just build a custom supermoto? (which wouldn't have ABS, steering lock, and probably be much more expensive).

·
Registered
1,976 Posts
Welcome to SMJ (finally) :thumbup:

I have zero personal experience with the Duke 390 other than sitting on one at the bike show, but I have read that there are issues with the 390....
I'd do a bit more research first, but I agree that the price is awesome. Although if you're planning to drop another $4k into it, that brings it close to the 690's price tag, and you get a bunch more power.

·
Registered
349 Posts
I've just come out of owning one for the last 9 months, they are GREAT bikes.

however, they're physically VERY small.

Build quality apart from the fan is excellent.

The 2 things that would stop me buying one in the US.

1. no slipper clutch on the US model, it is brilliant to have the slipper, transforms the bike
2. The 690 can be bought used with 5000 miles or so for the same price as the new 390.

Sure the warranty is good to have, along with a brand new bike... but the 690 is better.

There's a dedicated 390 forum that's as full of great information as this place. You'll get lots of answers there.

All in all.. I loved and really enjoyed my 390. But I don't regret getting my 690.

·
Registered
123 Posts
Cheaply made compared to Austrian ones, weak gearbox for road use. Entry level package compared to traditional KTK's.

There's a reason it' 1/2 price of their dirt 200!