SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the motard sport and need help in deciding what bike to buy. I just want a 450, 03 model or newer, either WR or CRFX to terririse the streets with. Prolly will never go to the track but maybe. I have always been a yamaha man in motocross but dont know what to get for the street. If any has experienced both please give me some advice.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
come on guys, i know someone has to has so info for me.

·
Registered
210 Posts
I think the wr is a good street tard with the wide ratio gearing that will help at speeds and still gives you the feeling of a yz frame. I have owned a CR450 and would not want to make a supermoto for street without changing the sprocket size at least because of the gearing its meant for supercross but saying that the bike is sick and has tones of power. I dont really know much about the CRX like if it has e start or not and if they changed the gearring sorry. Let us know what u decide.

·
Registered
84 Posts
i would go with the yamaha the top ends are more bulletproof even if the crfx doesn't have the same valves as the crf. i believe the valve opening and closing is more violent on the honda. the new klx 450 might be pretty sweet to

·
Registered
239 Posts
I'd second finding a good used KTM 450SM or something similar. You will be money ahead with great factory wheels and brakes, and have a machine that is very easy to convert to a street legal bike. I've even heard the e start kit for these is reasonably priced.

Good luck!

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
thanks for the info so far. I have always been a yamaha man when it comes to motocross bikes. Im on my 3rd YZ250F and know that the whole bike is more bullet proof than the CRF because of friends of mine that ride CRFs and have had numerous head problems. I have had no problems with any of my YZ250Fs. I think I am going to buy the WR.

·