SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and welcome to my rebuild/repair/upgrade/all around noob thread! I say noob because 1) I am a fairly new rider and new to the sumo lifestyle, so, be kind. 2) I am new to creating threads rather than reading them. I knew I wanted a supermoto as soon as I heard about them; light, forgiving, agile, economical, cheap, tall (I am a large rider), and sexy!!
BUT my content for this thread starts on a low note, early winter 2015, after a great deal of searching, I found myself a 2009 WR250X. This beauty had 800 miles on the clock and I wasn't about to pass it up, I immediately fell in love. Fast forward to not even a year (and only 350 miles) later a driver pulls out of his driveway right in front of me causing me to lay down the bike and become well acquainted with the pavement. So here I am, awaiting funds from the insurance company so I can transform "Crow" into "Crow 2.0." The purpose of this thread for me is to document my first build and upgrade process, as well as to hopefully get some help from more knowledgeable sumo-ers, and maybe help some people in the future doing an upgrade or repair. I will be happy to answer questions, take advice and opinions, I expect some (constructive) criticism.
Hopefully to follow will be some pictures of the bikes condition (if i can figure out how to post them hahaha)
Enjoy!

-Zeus

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
More shots of the damage :anim_peep:

If any of you are debating axle/frame sliders, DO IT!!! super cheap (Ill link the thread I used to build mine when I find it) and the guy who did the appraisal on my bike said that my sliders saved me from HUUUGEE amounts of damage! :bannana:

Attachments

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4