SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my bike last year and honestly it has less than 1500 miles on it, I just don't ride it very much as a sumo. I've done a few trackdays and farting around town on it. To be honest, it was fun at first, but then the novelty kind of wore off and now it feels slow as hell.

The good thing was this bike got me interested in dirt bikes. I also bought a kx250 2 stroke which I started riding trails on. I love playing in the dirt but the kx250 is too much bike for me to handle. I struggle with it, and on top of that the kick start is a bitch. I'm planning on selling that bike and getting something more beginner friendly, like a 125 smoker or 250 four stroke.

I thought about buying a set of dirt wheels for the wr and using that instead. My biggest concern is I have no idea how well this thing will handle the trails and occasional MX track in it's stock form. I'm just starting out so I don't catch huge air or anything like that, but for example today we rode trails with some pretty rough whoops, and I was kind of hesitant whether the motard suspension would have been able to handle it.

I guess my question is would the wr250x with some dirt wheels/knobbies make a decent trail/play bike? Or is it more of a dual sport fire road type of bike? I would really like to use it because of the E start. But in the end it is quite an expensive route to go since I have $5k into the bike and another $1k for wheels/tires. For that kind of money I could get myself a decent used dirt bike like a ktm 250exc F that is leaps and bounds better suspension wise.

·
Registered
5 Posts
WR250X as Trail Bike