SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob so I'm after some guidance :D. I am currently riding a Yamaha WR125X, I want to get a bigger bike and I think I want to get something around 600cc.

I have looked at the KTM 690 SMC which seems like the sort of thing I am after, however I just want to be sure there is nothing else out there that i could be missing before I make the purchase?

Bikes that I have already ruled out:

Yamaha XT660 (too heavy/bulky)
Aprillia SXV 550 (I LOVE this bike, but too expensive and impractical for me)

Not sure about the other KTMs (SMC, LC4, etc) it has to be road-legal supermoto with electric start. It doesn't have to be KTM either - how do the Huskys compare to the KTMs?

I am also very tall, so lower rides like the DRZ 400 SM are out.

Any suggestions welcome! Cheers :thumbup:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Grendel, I'm familiar with the Husky 630, it is a nice looking bike - does anyone have experience of this bike tough and can maybe compare it to the KTM 690 SMC?

I also heard that the Huskeys are maybe a bit tempramental and require more servicing?

·
Registered
685 Posts
Husqvarna's are Italian.
And they weigh less.
And they cost less.
And they should not be overlooked.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Phennliegh, they certainly won't be overlooked :D How do they ride though? I suppose I am after an opinion of someone who has owned katooms and huskys :thumbup:

·
Registered
685 Posts
I have a 2006 610; original seat sucked big time.
Otherwise the thing is great!
Never sat on a KTM so I couldn't compare.
It always has the power, no matter what gear you are in.
Suspension is sweet.
good luck

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Thanks Phennliegh, they certainly won't be overlooked :D How do they ride though? I suppose I am after an opinion of someone who has owned katooms and huskys :thumbup: