SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to paint my DRZ wheels and obviously need to take the hub and spokes off first. Only problem is, I've never done it before so I'm looking for a little advice. I don't have the money to replace the hubs with Talons so I'll be re-using my stock hubs, but I would like to replace the stock spokes with black ones. Some How-To advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.:thumbup:

·
Registered
364 Posts
It can be a pain to remove your OEM spokes depending on the age of your bike. I just grabbed an angle grinder and did it the easy way.

I used my OEM hubs w/Excel Takasago rims, so I don't see you having a problem. You can get spokes from factory pro racing or Buchanan spoke and wheel. In all honesty I can't see what the advantages of using Talons over my OEM hubs would be as they are both Aluminum. They do look great though.

·
Registered
876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It can be a pain to remove your OEM spokes depending on the age of your bike. I just grabbed an angle grinder and did it the easy way.

I used my OEM hubs w/Excel Takasago rims, so I don't see you having a problem. You can get spokes from factory pro racing or Buchanan spoke and wheel. In all honesty I can't see what the advantages of using Talons over my OEM hubs would be as they are both Aluminum. They do look great though.
Dumb question: are all the spokes the same length? Do I need to remember where each one goes?

On a side note, I just bought my bike as an '09 leftover a few months ago so removing the spokes shouldn't be a major problem. Do I remove them at the hub or the wheel first?

·
Registered
364 Posts
No, the inner and out spokes are different sizes. I believe the short ones are out and the long ones are in. But, just take now of them when you remove them.