SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone know what capacity oil sumps the SXV has? It's got separate g/box and crank/cyl lube, but is there any info on the specifics of the size of each? It's dry sump so I'm presuming here that the oil in the g/b is relatively static and relies on the box itself to splish it around and that there is only a single oil pump driving the forced lubrication of a plain bearing bottom end and feeding the head?

Any specific info on the servicing intervals, and what's involved with the 60 hour service?

·
Registered
161 Posts
Pretty standard

I am no Mechanical expert but the service scheduale given above seems fairly standard and obviously all companies recomended intervals are on ther very conservative side.

The part I don't like is that all servicing is supposed to be done by the authorized dealer to maintain the warranty. I am not going to take a bike in to have them check the fluids, disc and pad wear, or clean the airfilter or any of the other simple stuff that anyone could do on their own. I would imagine that even the dealer would concede that you can do those kinds of things and keep the warranty.

·
Registered
34 Posts
You still have 3 months warranty if you de-restrict, which I suppose you have done? :)

I did all my work myself without loosing the warranty, it's up to the dealer.

·
Super Moderator
6,598 Posts
3 months? the owners manual clearly states you're only covered by warranty using the restricted version

i've also read several interviews and reviews of the bike which also stated you lose all waranty when derestricting the bike.

The SXV and RXV come in a derated version which can be legally used on public roads and is covered by a legal warranty.
my guess is if you still got 3 months that was probably a dealer agreement.