SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie and looking to buy a supermoto as my first real bike. I have a motorcycle license and at one point had an old '92 Suzuki GSXR600 but barely rode it.

I'm trying to decide between an '08-'09 Suzuki DRZ400SM and an '08 Aprilia SXV 550. I'd use the bike mostly for street riding but would like to ride it occasionally on light dirt trails...

I know the Aprilia will require more maintenance but are there any other pros and cons I should know about regaring both of these bikes? Would love to hear any advice on what you would buy if you were in my situation. I'm 6'0 215 lbs but i think both bikes are around the same size?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice,

Supermotowannabe

·
Registered
1,075 Posts
Don't compare a Desmosedici to a Ninja 250.

"more maintenance" is an understatement. The 550 is, IMO, a purebred race bike. Unless you are a very well versed mechanic, or can afford the maintenance on one, I'd look elsewhere.

Obviously, you have a lot of reading to do. The DRZ is a great bike for what it is, and I don't really have any regrets with my bored out 434 DRZ. I like being able to commute on it and still get ~40mpg and only having to do oil changes every thousand miles.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Don't compare a Desmosedici to a Ninja 250.

"more maintenance" is an understatement. The 550 is, IMO, a purebred race bike. Unless you are a very well versed mechanic, or can afford the maintenance on one, I'd look elsewhere.

Obviously, you have a lot of reading to do. The DRZ is a great bike for what it is, and I don't really have any regrets with my bored out 434 DRZ. I like being able to commute on it and still get ~40mpg and only having to do oil changes every thousand miles.
+1

Thread can end here before there are 100 of the same replies lol. Welcome to smj.

·
Registered
611 Posts