SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to supermoto i raced mx for 5 years. I bought a yamaha r6 for street riding, its fun but i think ill have more fun on a supermoto then i could and a crouch rocket. How well do supermotos ride on the street? as far as highway riding? i work about 25 min away from my job and normaly about 20 min on the highway somehwhere around 75 80 miles an hour. Thanks for the info...

·
Registered
2,187 Posts
i have an 08 Suzuki drz400sm... i too work 30 min away (all highway). they are fine for cruising on the highway. but they just dont have anything more to give really when your cruising at 75. it still has a lil bit but not much since it tops out right around 100 stock... but what it lacks on the top end it totally makes up for in every other way.. it definitely takes some getting used to not having the balls out power of a supersport (i came from streetbikes).. but once you realize what all you can do, its awesome.... i dont even miss the super speed power anymore

im sure others will be able to give a better explanation.... im new and ive only had a sumo for a month and the last 2 weeks ive been out due to an injury at work that gave me a huge laceration on my face (fun fun)... BUT... i love it so far. its so much more fun than i ever had on my streetbike.. going on the road, off the road and anywhere you want really

not to mention better gas mileage and cheaper insurance.. and depending on what you get the bike itself is cheaper. some sumos are pretty freakin expensive. i went the cheaper route. i got my brand new 08 drz OTD for $6000. yeah ive heard its the slower of the bunch. but its still super fun.. and its cheaper. and once i got the 3x3 mod, jet, and exhaust. its great

·
Registered
3,270 Posts