SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am fairly new to Supermoto riding, and I come from the world of motocross. I have been riding with my motocross helmet and goggles, but the wind noise is insane above 40 mph. I am wondering what y'all think about helmets? I am on a college budget, so it can't be too expensive, but should I go the dual-sport (motocross-looking) helmet with the visor, or a road-bike helmet? I just want a quieter ride without so much wind resistance, but a cool look to fit Supermoto.

Thanks!
Rhett

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Ok, sounds good. I will definitely try them out.

Is there much of a difference though in having a face shield? Or are they all about the same noise level?

·
Registered
477 Posts
I've ridden with an MX helmet on the street, and with good earplugs it really isn't bad at all. I like the airflow on hot days.

I have an Icon Variant now that I really like, but still use earplugs. The Variant is a bit pricey, but I got a 50% off deal a while back on a discontinued graphic.

It is definitely going to be quieter with a full face helmet.

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Ok, sounds good. I will definitely try them out.

Is there much of a difference though in having a face shield? Or are they all about the same noise level?
noise level is all about the same.
Some goggles will whistle or if the strap flips it can make noise... but overall they're all comparable.
the face shield is nice because bugs and splashes dont hit your face.... goggles are nice because of the airflow... so its whatever you feel like there.

around town I sometimes take the stupid route and wear my MX helmet with sunglasses... without the goggles it sounds the same. if I am going on the interstate I sometimes pickup one of my sportbike helmets because the visor catches wind and gets annoying.... plus pebbles at 65mph hurt my cheeks... im a wuss like that.

·
Registered
17 Posts