SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for your help. I am new to supermotos but not new to motorcycles. I currently ride a 2003 triumph speed triple 955i. I now want a supermoto bike for a second toy! Something i can stunt around town and not worry about abusing to much. I want to buy something used because i cant justify buying a brand new supermoto only to tear it up...I was thinking of spending between 2 and 4 grand on one (i know broad price range) but if 4 grand will get something a hell of a lot better than 2 i can justify spending the extra money. I don't know much about what supermotos are best for overal stunting and going crazy on. I would be riding this thing mainly around town. My question is what are some good supermoto bikes that you would recommend i buy between 2 and 4 thousand?

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Sounds like a drz or wrx would be the bikes to get for your price range. Might be able to find a converted MX bike but probably not. A converted MX bike will be a little more fun if you're just planning to ride around town.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
thanks for the reply! I have been doing some searching and I am really liking the look of the 2007ish husqvarna 610's and 2008 ktm 690 although i am defiantly foreseeing my budget and the point of buying something cheap to beat up.....But i really want something that performs!!! I don't know how its going to feel going from a 955cc speed triple to a 610cc or 400cc bike

·
Registered
3,100 Posts
Get a DRZ and be done with the debate.

Super reliable, affordable to purchase, maintain and modify. Very capable, even if you have to learn how to maintain momentum rather than just rely on sheer power alone.

This makes you hone your skills and ultimately is much more rewarding and safer on the street for your body and license status.