SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the supermoto world from sportbikes. I bought an 06 DRZ400SM with a top end kit. Has 17000 miles total 2000 since top end kit was put on by previous owner. I have been riding the bike for 2 wks with no issues. Last Friday while on the highway the bikes buttered one time and then shut off all I found was a pinched vacuum line from the petcock valve to the carburetor I fix this problem got the bike running made it 3 miles down the road and it shut off again I killed the battery trying to crank it over so I replaced the battery yesterday turn the bike on now sometimes it will start and run and then it shuts off or it'll start up and then shut off immediately so if anyone has any ideas everything that I've read in my clymes manual says that it has an issue with Fuel clogged or the air filter is clogged. I did notice that my air filter has some sort of like sticky residue on it I have a carburetor out of the bike right now. I will admit this is my first carbureted bike and I made a stupid mistake of thinking that the prime position on the petcock valve was the primary fuel source so I was running the bike on prime the entire time and I know that the manual said the fuel petcock has to be in the on position in order for a super Moto version bike to run properly. if you have any ideas of things that I can check I am all ears I'm completely new to the super Moto compared to having an gsxr750 before. I do plan on changing all felines and vacuum lines associated with the fuel and air sections of the bike I'm also going to do an oil change and change the spark plug but as I said if you have any ideas as to what I could check or if you've had these experiences before with your own bike please let me know what I can try thank you

·
Registered
487 Posts
The way I do it is :