SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
whats up guys? im new to supermoto and excited to be here. i raced motox for about 4 years back in my teen years and always had a weak spot for supermoto bikes. so i decided a few weeks ago to pull the trigger and get on one. 2011 wr250x. i did quite a bit of research and decided on this bike because of the FI and of coarse how sick they look :bannana:. i almost bought a left over 09 klx250sf for real cheap but decided i wanted a little more performance from a bike. also at 6'3", the klx felt a little too short for me.

well ive been looking into quite a few mods and so far ive trimmed the front fender, put some renthal medium full diamonds on the bars, took the spark arrestor out, and put a pro taper bar pad on the stock bars as no pad looks like crap to me.

a few quiestions... ive been looking into chain and sprockets and just wondering what brands, sizes you guys are running? so far im looking at either a +6 rear or a +1 front and +7 rear. any input and what size chain with that kind of setup?

well heres the bike for now!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

also, how much room is there to raise the bars up a bit? standing up on the bike isnt very comfortable at my height. any brands i should look for? thanks!

·
Registered
3,426 Posts
get high bend bars and higher clamps if you need the bars higher. those will bend the first time the bike falls over anyway.

and -1 +7?! what are you planning on doing? stunting? i have just a +3 in back and think its perfect for street use and commuting. i wouldnt go one more tooth either direction for my style of riding. can still do short higway runs and can pogo it into a wheelie in 5th. that gearsing would be good for a kart track.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the input man. said +1 +7 not -1. ill do a little more research. did you have to change your chain at +3?

·
Registered
1,485 Posts

·