SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up a 2002 YZ250 with a California plate. Not only for SM, but also because it seems to open up a lot more offroading opportunities in this state. I have had 2 strokes my whole life but Im new to riding on streets. I would love any advise or tips you have to offer. I am excited to find some track opportunities and also good street rides in southern california.

Braaaap on!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Epic deal picking up that YZ. Nothing like a plated 2 stroke dirtbike. Makes me feel like I'm breaking the law every time I'm ripping around town.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That is so true! Its legal to lane split here in California and it is possibly the best feeling besides orgasm to braaap past a cop sitting in traffic, or better yet, sit at the front of a light right next to one with my blue smoke fillin their crown vic. priceless haha.

Updated: Bought a KX500 motor last week. It will be put into my YZ250 frame this winter.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Wear full gear! Pants, jacket, gloves, boots, and a leatt brace! I hit a wheel/tire that was in next to the HOV lane on the 405 six weeks ago and got banged up pretty good. It was dark and I didn't see it till last minute. I think it's because of the leatt brace got away with just a compressed t12 and 2 broken bones. Splitting lanes is great, but you need to watch out for things other than cars. But, on the other hand, if I would have swerved around the tire I would have ended up in traffic which would have been much worse.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Picked up a 2002 YZ250 with a California plate. Not only for SM, but also because it seems to open up a lot more offroading opportunities in this state. I have had 2 strokes my whole life but Im new to riding on streets. I would love any advise or tips you have to offer. I am excited to find some track opportunities and also good street rides in southern california.