SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys, I'm sure this has been rehashed a lot but I really need some guidance on what bike to get.
First off let me say I'm pretty confident in my riding abilities (been riding dirt bikes all my teenage years). What I'm looking for is a street legal Supermoto that's reliable, low(ish) maintenance, and fun! I'm going to be riding almost always on the road maybe 85% road and 15% dirt. With about 90% of the road riding off the highway. I've been looking at some used Yamaha wr250x's but wanted to make sure I haven't skipped over anything. I'm kind of shying away from dirt bike converted supermoto's like Honda crf450r's? Because from what I understand (correct me if I'm wrong) their high maintenance and require engine rebuilds and mess? I'm far from a mechanic and not capable of pulling out engines, etc.
So basically what's a really fun bike that I'm not going to have to worry about over-heating or breaking down every time I get on it, and also has a pretty good after market selection? My budget is $5000 and below, can i expect a decent bike around there?

Thanks in Advanced!

·
Registered
7,786 Posts
I would say forget the WR250 and look no further than the WR450. The 450 is half the weight and more than twice the power! Don't worry, they're low maintenance and super easy to convert. I ride one daily and have for years without issue. They are originally engineered as street legal machines, so they are rock solid and dependable. Here's some links that you might find helpful/insightful:

One of the Greatest Commercials in the World:

WR450 Info.:

http://www.supermotojunkie.com/showthread.php?134832-WR450-De-Restriction-and-Conversion-to-YZ-Spec-Street-Legal-Machine&highlight=

http://www.supermotojunkie.com/showthread.php?132614-WR426-vs-WR450-Steel-Frame-vs-WR450-Aluminum-Frame&highlight=