SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first off, i apologize if i put this in the wrong spot. i wasn't sure if it belonged in "tech" or not, so mods, feel free to move this if need be. :thumbup: just send me a PM so i know where you put it, otherwise i'll be lost for a little while. :lol: i also feel bad about it being so damn long....oops. :headshake

i am sure this stuff has been beated into the ground by newbies before me, so i apologize for that as well. i dug back a LOT of pages and couldn't really find what i was looking for, and when i use the search feature, it brings up all kinds of stuff i don't need. perhaps i'm just using the wrong "key" words. :headscrat

here goes: i'm not new to bikes by any means, but i AM new to SM's. totally new. i've never really ridden one. well, i have, but it wasn't mine, and it was in a parking lot.... you get the picture.

i plan to either sell my SV1000s in april, or either trade it in for a 'tard. the question is, which one? the only SM that i am aware of that is street ready that is "affordable" is the drz400sm, am i correct in that? i know ktm has some monsters, but i want something in the 400-500cc range. the dealer told me that he didn't think i would be happy with the drz400sm because, and i will quote him so i don't get totally reamed a new one...."they are weak". i don't know. i'm coming from a 996cc sportbike to a 400, so i'm realistic in what to expect.:hmmm: i know it will top out in stock form at just under 100mph, and i'm fine with that.