SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I Just took delivery of my 2010 Yamaha WR250X This morning. It was shipped to my home. When the bike is on the kickstand, I cannot see any oil reading in the view window. I have put about 25 miles on it already today with no engine warning light, but I am concerned. Should I be? Should I try to add a small amount of Mobile1 (auto, that's all I have at the moment) until I see a reading. Would the Mobile1 hurt the engine? Sorry for the noob questions, I'm new to this. Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry all, I'm an idiot.

OK,

I Just learned lesson number one about new motorcycle ownership. Do not overreact when you don't know what you are doing. Of course I couldn't see an oil level readiing, the bike wasn't LEVEL. What a moron.

I can see all you SM vets out there who read this roll your eyes, grit your teeth, and think to yourselves, "another genius gets a bike, and joins our ranks. Great". Sorry, I'll get better.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Your new bike should have come with an owner’s manual. Take a little time and read it to learn a bunch of stuff about your new bike and you won't have these anxiety attacks. :D

·
Registered
913 Posts
Your new bike should have come with an owner’s manual. Take a little time and read it to learn a bunch of stuff about your new bike and you won't have these anxiety attacks. :D
X2

also i wont advise using auto oils........they have friction modifiers in them that hamper the operation of the clutch.
use bike specific oils.
there are a couple exceptions to this, but to be safe, use the bike oils.

·
Registered
628 Posts
OK,

I Just learned lesson number one about new motorcycle ownership. Do not overreact when you don't know what you are doing. Of course I couldn't see an oil level readiing, the bike wasn't LEVEL. What a moron.