SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I've been lusting over the idea of owning a sumo since 2001, and now, considering my first purchase. I'm looking at a used drz400sm w/low seat, but I do have some questions. First off, I'm short! I stand 5'4"(inseam is 29-30") but i'm 215-220 during off season. Now, with my weight, will the bike sag enough for me to put tip toes the bike? I dont need to flat foot, nor do I need to have both feet to touch the ground. Also, how long do the tires last, and has anyone used a harder touring compound? I'm trying to use the sm as my daily ride and for touring.

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
the drz for me tall on me and i stand 5'11'' with a 34 inseam and i cant for the life of me flat foot it. the low gel seat only offers maybe an ince lower , right now i have stocker dunlopers and i have about 3400 miles of comuting and the only bad ware is the flat mohawk on the rear from straights.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Hrmm... :headscrat

I'm a hair over 6ft, and I can *just* get flat on both feet...

I'd think your best bet is to install a link kit to lower the bike enough. The DRZ being the rugged bike it is, the kit would probably have little, if any affect on 'normal' riding. You could soften the suspension a bit, but I'm approx your weight and I don't know that you want to go too soft...

But then, that's just my opinion.

One thing I can say though, is that you'll LOVE the DRZ. It's gotta be some of the best fun you can have on the road... You'll read lots about how heavy/sluggish it is, and yadda yadda... face it, it's not a race bike- don't expect it to perform like one. But you *can* expect it to be much more fun than one person should be allowed to have on a bike. :thumbup:

...ease of maintenance, availability of parts and things like that just add to it's popularity.

Have fun! :bike:
S.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hrmm... :headscrat