SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all, just introduced myself in another section earlier.. and as I warned there, I may have some dumb questions :) I tried digging through here for the answer I was looking for, but cannot find it.

My question is this: Is the flapper mod and AIS removal necessary for other mods i.e. full exhaust and tuner? I ask this, because what I do to my bike now will not be anything to void the 1 yr factory warranty. After that, it is game on! I am just itching to do something to the bike right now and a slip-on and tuner seemed like a good start..I just do not want to purchase those right now if any performance increase rely on the flapper mod and AIS removal.

I am not a very mechanical-savvy person so I do apologize if any of my questions are silly ones :p

edit: to add, I am a little weary of the flapper mod due to riding in the rain quite a bit..if I can get by with not doing that mod at all, that would be wonderful

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
No. You don't HAVE to do the flapper and AIS mods if you get an exhaust (slip-on or full system) and tuner.

You can by-pass the flapper thing by simply removing the airbox door. That'll let the bike breath much better and give you the full benefit of your tuner and exhaust. (careful if you get caught in real heavy rain with airbox door off)

The AIS thingy really has nothing to do with power gains. It's more about weight savings and just removing some useless emissions crap.

What pipe and programmer you getting?

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was thinking about the FmF Q4 or Powercore, powerbomb header, and will probably go with the FmF tuner as well

·
Registered
48 Posts
I just installed the Powercore 4 this morning and it is loud! sounds really good and makes the bike run much better. I recommend if you like loud, braaap braap four-strokes ;)

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·