SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to say whats up, im new to supermoto but not to riding. I currently ride a Gixer 600 and 03 yz125. Ive been wanting to get a supermoto for a while now. Right now im trying to decide between a DRZ 400sm or wr250x. If you have any suggestions let me know, I know this has been asked already a million times. I really want a wr250x but i found a great deal on a 05 DRZ 400sm thats hard to pass. I will not be racing the bike. It will be mostly just used for fun, wheelies, stoppies, etc. I will also ride it to work.

Anyways if you live in Louisiana or anywhere close let me know so we can meet up and ride, always down to meet some chill guys and go ride.

·
Registered
155 Posts
I'm on a WR250X in Shreveport. Probably the ONLY one youll ever see here lol. I'm on it quite a bit, I commute on it. Its a fun bike but a little torque-less. You can drive it lugging it around while still keeping up with traffic, but theres no real pull down low. You also aren't going to throttle it up without some serious gearing reduction or a mighty tug. In first it lifts the wheel just a bit if I go from a crawl to full throttle. I'm not sure how high. I have an instant reflex from all my time on my KX500 to shift my weight forward and lean forward. Too many times of that other bike standing straight up in 2nd and 3rd when I'm fighting it with all my might. Clutching it up isn't too hard, but I suck at it. I also ride it off road a bit. Its heavy for a dirt bike but for general exploring and farting around its great. I've had both wheels off the ground before but I wouldn't exactly take it to an MX track.