SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a motorcycle mechanic and I am currently stumped by an issue I am having with a 2002 Suzuki DRZ400S (~10,000miles on it) that I am working on. The customer brought it in with the complaint that he was riding it, shut it off and it wouldn't start back up. I brought the bike in and after checking spark, plug condition, carb/air filter condition and compression I decided that it needed a piston and rings (compression was 90psi. and it should be 137psi). After replacing the piston and rings, re-timing the cams, replacing the plugs, and completely cleaning the carb, the bike will not fire. It sounds like it wants to, but will not fire up. I rechecked the cam timing, rechecked spark, rechecked the carb (removed, inspected and cleaned all jets and passages) and I still can't get it to run. If you have any insight or ideas as to what I have overlooked I'd love to hear what you have to say. Thanks

-Matt-

·
Mullet Lord
3,302 Posts
I've seen bad coils that would produce spark with the plug out, but not fire under compression. This is based on my experience as a Stihl certified 2-cycle equipment, so it's not entirely accurate, but I think it's worth a shot. Do you have access to another coil and/or CDI that you could swap out and try? Is it backfiring, popping, or doing anything to indicate the presence of spark? I'm not familiar with the carb on the S model, but does it have any vacuum plugs/hoses that could be leaking?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3