SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all I am looking into purchasing a 01 Wr 426 and was wondering if Wr's are easily made street legal ? I am from NC found the bike on craigslist Im eager to get my first Sumo but want to make sure I do not get ahead of myself and get something that I cant possibly be on the road with . Any help is appreciated guys I just need some info on the process of getting it legal and The $ I may have to put into it to do so . Also, Where do I need to start if I buy the bike ? How do I get it inspected/titled do I need to run VIN numbers to prove its not stolen ? I have also read that its almost impossible to to title an offroad use only bike are Wr's an exception ? Sorry for all the questions I am new to this and have no experience or know how to get a bike road legal besides the obvious accesories like tailight, horn, mirrors etc. Just getting it legal is the problem . Thanks for any input or advice you guys can give me :thumbup: (The bike currently has no paperwork I just need to know where to begin)

·
Registered
61 Posts
I live in WNC and my buddy was able to title his honda 650. it took awhile to figure out but what he found out was you can go to the tag office and your file for a inbalment title ( can't really remember what it is called but its something close to that). it gets sent out and its a lengthy processes but it worked. tomorrow ill ask him about the details again and let ya know

·
Registered
65 Posts
Its borderline impossible to register a bike in NC, with that being said. See if the owner has the MSO