SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,I am a salesman at a motorcycle shop here in Canada.I currently own a 2007 gsxr 750 which I love...I am thinking about an 06ktm 990 sm.My style of riding is street mainy around town but I do like the occaisonal longer trip at higher speeds (sweepers).I also love to do stand up wheelies all day long and am learning rolling stoppies :)I was wondering if this bike would be a good choice for my style of riding.I can test ride it it is a new model even though it's an 06.I am just worried that I will not be able to do my stand up wheelies lol even though it should.I only ever see ppl doing sit down wheelies.I know my passion for riding is now carving the corners tight or sweepers.What do you guys think?I can wait till next year and get the 690 duke or w/e else but I kinda want to get this one now.Post up all your answers love to hear from you ex sportbikers and sumo riders alike.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,928 Posts
V-Twin = TORQUE. It will Mono better than your GSXR. Its a perfect bike for what you want to do with it.

·
Registered
239 Posts
While I don't have a 990SM, I have a 990 Superduke which is similar and I can assure you will have more fun on the SM than on the GIXXER. I haven't owned a race replica bike in a long time, simply because I find riding them on the streets to be a chore, and worse even boring. While they make great track day and race bikes, they are not great street bikes (uncomfotable, no torque, stiff suspension, etc, etc). The SM will wheelie like crazy, stop with the best of them, and best of all can be ridden at 9/10ths pace on roads that would make a race replica wince in pain (or just it's rider).