SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i kinda want a mini tard to f%$k around with, but im a cheap college student and as usual, have no money.

if i had my way a 150r would be in my garage next to my ktm 525, but when it cost almost as much as my full race bike, not happening.

i have seen th yz 80 chassied ttr125 motor mini. that looks like a cool toy. get the better chassis of the 80, and the 4 stroke motor of the 125. looked like a great compromise, but obviously a lot of work. though i do all my own work(im in for a mechanical engineering degree so that stuff is fun to me)

im trying to decide. the 85 motards are cool, have riden one, and wholy cow that thing was awsome. it had 17's if i got one i would probably go with 17's so i could ride it in the dirt as well as long tracks.
but i am more familier with 4 stroke stuff. even though all the 4 strokes are air cooled(150r doesnt count as its WAY! out of my price range.) how do they do as motards? or to make one of the air cooled 125-150 moors compeetive with an 85 more money then its worth? i know most of the race bikes i see are heavily built, is that what it takes to run with the 85's?

the only other thing i wonder is whats the difference with the bigger minis and the klx110-kx65 tards? i have ridden a 50, and even though i didnt fit at all, it was the most fun i have had on 2 wheels. but at 6'2" and 215 i do fit better on the 85 size bikes.

thanks guys

·
Registered
862 Posts