SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So lately ive been looking at the Ktm 625 Smc, found a very good deal on a 05 model (I think, it might be an 04 model?) But i'm a noob with carbs and ive heard that the 625 comes stock with the BST 40 Carb just like the 640 LC4 04-05 model!

Problem #1: I don't know what either the BST 40 or the keihin FCR 41 look like!
Problem #2: I'm not sure i got it right about the BST 40 being the 625's stock Carb!

Could really use some help and/or any additional info :headscrat

Thanks

·
Registered
555 Posts
Oh yea and the bst40 is a mikuni and the fcr 41 is a keihin. on the flat side parts of the slide or somewhere visible to the exterior it will usually say mikuni or keihin on it.

·
Registered
115 Posts
In the US at least, all of the 625SMC from '04-06 came w/ Keihin FCR41MX flat-slider carb; looks like the one in the pic to me. The easy way to tell the difference between the FCR and the BST (other than a twist of the educated wrist:D) is that the BST has the round, flat-domed black plastic cap on the top, while the FCR's is a metal oblong sorta shape.

Also, you can easily tell the difference between the '04 625SMC and '05-06 (again, at least in the US) because the '04 has a single muffler rather than dual.

Hope that helps-- now BUY that thing and post pics:thumbup:!

Bryan

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
In the US at least, all of the 625SMC from '04-06 came w/ Keihin FCR41MX flat-slider carb; looks like the one in the pic to me. The easy way to tell the difference between the FCR and the BST (other than a twist of the educated wrist:D) is that the BST has the round, flat-domed black plastic cap on the top, while the FCR's is a metal oblong sorta shape.

Also, you can easily tell the difference between the '04 625SMC and '05-06 (again, at least in the US) because the '04 has a single muffler rather than dual.

Hope that helps-- now BUY that thing and post pics:thumbup:!