SuperMoto Junkie banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the supermoto community and I am trying to figure which bike to get. My question today is about the Honda xr650l and xr650r. If I were to purchase a stock xr650 like this one

How much money would it take to get this 650 to a supermoto status and pretty much look like and have the same set-up as this one

Last but not least, does anyone have anything good or bad to say about the big Honda's and what is the difference of the L model and R model....

·
Registered
516 Posts
just buy one done, it will be much cheaper. The L has mushy suspension and is much heavier..............go with the r

·
Registered
24 Posts
Having owned a L model, I'd say go for the R, watercooled, better suspension to start, a whole lot lighter and more powerful. The only thing you might be missing with the R is e-start. The only way you could get the first pic to resemble the 2nd is to buy the 2nd first....two different animals.

·
Premium Member
2,394 Posts
Tdog.

Count on something in the range of one to two thousand dollars, depending on what you do with it.

An L has the "magic button" and the extra weight to go with it. The L is up in years, likes to drink beer and has a gut. the R is it's race focused cousin, wakes up in the morning, swallows a raw egg and runs a few miles before heading off to work in the truck depot.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I have both an R and an L and the R is a much better tard than the L. However the L has much better manners in traffic and gets much greater fuel economy with the CV carb.

·
Registered
995 Posts
Having owned a L model, I'd say go for the R, watercooled, better suspension to start, a whole lot lighter and more powerful. The only thing you might be missing with the R is e-start. The only way you could get the first pic to resemble the 2nd is to buy the 2nd first....two different animals.

+1

·
Registered
1,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·