SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I had my first full weekend on my drz so I decided to practice body position and form. First thing Saturday I'm out riding around the house and I come into a tight switchback, not too fast, stick my foot down, inside arm straight, outside arm slightly bent, trying to push the bike down beneath me when all of a sudden the rear breaks loose! My first close call went well, I saved it thanks to having a foot down. My tires are nothing great at this time but I expected better grip than that. What caused this? And yes I was very smooth braking, leaning, and on the throttle. Does my upper body need to lean in as well even tho my ass is somewhat on the outer portion of the seat? This also happened today in a high speed turn. BTW I have no experience on mx style riding so this is very new.

·
Registered
40 Posts
it sounds like you got a little too aggressive before your tires warmed up to proper temp. next time, get some heat into them before you tear it up. oh, and check your tire pressures. make sure they are at the proper psi for your bike.

·
Registered
771 Posts
put more weight on the outside peg. possibly cold tires and pushing too hard as mentioned and/or too much air

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
^ What those guys said. Also, do you still have the stock tires on your DRZ? If so, ditch those as fast as you can...

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·