SuperMoto Junkie banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to supermoto and keep going back and forth on what bike to get. I think I really would prefer a lighter 450 but everytime I decide that I hear horror stories about maintence intervals and reliability. I would do slight commuting on the bike with maybe a little highway use. Also want to be able to go off-road and find bigger atv trails for fun. I’m worried the 701 is just to big for supermoto things (jumps, power slides, stairs off-road riding) but worried the 450/501 won’t last on the street. I don’t mind turning a wrench and changing oil every week but don’t want to go broke paying for maintence and burn out the bikes longetivity. Hoping to keep this bike for years to come. Any advice on owners of a 450 or 701 would be greatly appreciate, what do you like and dislike about your bike? Is the 450 reliable? Is the 701 to heavy?

·
Registered
75 Posts
I’ve been doing the Supermoto thing for 2/3’rds of my life and I’m a old guy now.I used to race Maico’s in NESC motocross series all around New England.
I bought a very unusual 400 enduro off the shops owner, about 1974, it had a lighting coil electric ignition, so it had basic lights, and a wide ratio transmission, bigger fuel tank, just ran universal tires, was able to register it..
It was a dream back then, could do roads to get into more dirt .

Since then I’ve had MANY factory made SM’s
ATK 605 SM
TM Racing 540 Black Dream SM
Aprilia SXV 550 SM

and built a totally Custom Honda XR650 R Supermoto That I still have.

I’m a maintenance freak, Nobody does more oil changes, or keeps up with a motorcycle like me, but the last thing I want with any of my vehicles is to do major tear downs of engines to rebuild or replace parts, huge expense, no gain except keeping it reliable.