SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to this forum and new to supermotos. I used to live in Honolulu untill about a month ago but now live on Guam. I have been on superbikes for the last 7 years and have racked up about 100,000 miles since I started riding in 2003. I have had two R6s and I currently ride a Ducati 1198. Riding in Hawaii was okay considering the size of the place but I fear Guam on a superbike is just going to get me into trouble. The way I see it I have two options, go cruiser, or go supermoto. Frankly, I'm not quite ready for a cruiser yet, so here I am.

First off, am I making the right decision to go supermoto? Secondly, how should I start this whole thing off? Guam is pretty secluded so I'm basically restricted to the Japanese four (please correct me if this is a wrong assumption). Do I buy a supermoto straight off the floor, which would have to be the Suzuki because I don't think a 250cc will do it for me, or do I spend a bit more and convert a mx bike? If I go mx, which one?

Thanks for reading and I appreciate any feedback that would point me in the right direction.

dd

·
Registered
2,340 Posts
1) Yes.
2) Buy a bike, any bike.
3) Don't know about Guam dealerships, but you can't go wrong with the Big 4.
4) I've done it both ways and straight off the floor is easiest. IMO You definitely want more than 250cc.
6) If I went MX it would be a CRF450R, YZ450F or a KTM SX with a button.

:welcome: to SMJ!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the welcome and advice. it has been a bit lonely in here so i figured i'd better start reading up. here is were i'm at the moment.

i want to buy new.
my first choice would be a 450 four stroke.
the wr450f would be that choice based on what i have read about their reliability, but the local dealer in guam don't carry them, go figure.