SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding my 2007 Husky SMR 510 to work for the last 6 months in downtown San Francisco. Parking is cheap so it is ultra convenient (10 minute ride on the bike or 40 minutes by bus including walking). The problem is people drive like maniacs on the way home and now that Winter is here it is getting dark or is dark when I leave. The bike's headlight is not very bright so I am trying to make myself and the bike more visible. I am going to pick up a reflective vest (Icon Interceptor in High Vis Yellow) to wear on my way home. The bike is virtually all black (with red accents) so I want to minimize the impact these enhancements will make on the overall look during day light (Read: I do not want HUGE neon yellow reflective stickers all over it)

I have been considering reflective red rim stripes as a possibility but would also be interested in ideas for extra lighting like battery powered LEDs, etc. I don't want to bother hard wiring if possible, so anything that is small and runs on a watch battery or something similar would be good. I am also interested in helmet lights (forward facing to add brightness to where I look or rear facing for visibility). I have an Icon Variant helmet and would love to find a few small but bright LEDs to velcro to the bottom of the visor (maybe something like those phasor kaychain flashlights with constant on switch for example). The headlight on my bike is notoriously dim and I don't have the cash to do a HID conversion so I'm looking for an easy DIY solution for that as well.

Any ideas would be really helpful. Thanks!

Oh here is a picture of the bike - looking to keep visual impact to a minimum.

·
Registered
333 Posts
try superbrightleds.com they make replacement bulbs for headlights that are led and not too expensive you just need to match the bulb type they also sell led light strips and other goodies.

·
Registered
131 Posts