SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so Im new to smjunkie. I resently came across a 2006 husqvarna SMR510. my wife has been eanting a new bike for a wile so I thought what the heck. so I got it. when I got it, it was note running, the kid I got it off of had rebuilt the engine, it rean for 15 minutes then died, and would not run since. after a wile I found out the the woodrif key for hte stater had broken and it was out of time. after fixing that I got the bike running. and here in lies the problem.

this bike runs like a scalded dog when you are opening the trottle or when the engine is under load, but it idles really rough, and it will sputter and spit when the engine is not under load, or you are just trying to crouse down the road. I have checked the electronics, and the stater is not putting out the resistance it is suposed to, but its close. Im thinking the issue is the jetting, because if I have it running and turn off the gas, the bike starts to run smooth right before the carb goes empty, Im guessing its sucking up air through the main jet with fuel for a few seconds and leans it out? does anyone have any Ideas? I live at about 2000ft elevation and the main jet says its a 50? is that right. thanks guys.

long live sm

·
Registered
68 Posts
ok so Im new to smjunkie. I resently came across a 2006 husqvarna SMR510. my wife has been eanting a new bike for a wile so I thought what the heck. so I got it. when I got it, it was note running, the kid I got it off of had rebuilt the engine, it rean for 15 minutes then died, and would not run since. after a wile I found out the the woodrif key for hte stater had broken and it was out of time. after fixing that I got the bike running. and here in lies the problem.