SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys

I'm considering an SM at the moment and I'm drawn to these for budget and practicality reasons. Previously I had an 05 zx10, so obviously this is a bit down on power, but more practical in my opinion.

How often does the oil and filters need to be changed?
Are there any cheap and easy ways to gain a bit more power? I have read 3x3 and a few other common things but I am new to this... :rolleyes:
Any recommended gearing ratios?
Also is an rs4 a worthwhile addition? I'm a tad worried about the heels of my boots resting on the stumpy pipes...

Thanks in advance,

Matt

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hmmm okay since posting this, I have come across an xr650r with full motard and dirt gear, plus a 08 KTM SM690 (all around similar price, DRZ is new)
I'm guessing these three cannot be compared, but if it came does to reliability and then fun (in that order :rolleyes2:) which would you blokes choose?

·
Registered
281 Posts
sorry can't comment on the other 2 models you mentioned, i've never been on them. BUT, coming from several different sport bikes to the DRZ, here are a few observations:

the DRZ is fast(enough) up to 80mph, then done! so don't expect to cruise all day at 85 like the sportbike, i generally have to dial back my commute to 70mph to leave room for passing up to 85 or 90.
i think any motard will need a custom seat, at least mine did, so it's very tolerable now for long days.
oil/filter i'm going about every 1500 miles, but they are alot cheaper than the zx-10. I think my filters were just $4 each etc.. no fairings to take off either to do so.

DRZ = WAYYYYYYY more fun on a daily basis than any sportbike... but i do miss having the RC51, i'm sure it would get used one of my 5 days to work. not enough to justify keeping it.

·
Registered
530 Posts
i have a drz, my friend an 02 xr650 r and another with the ktm,