SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i was heading home from mulholland hwy at about 2pm....was on the freeway in the slow lane doing maybe 70....(bike is geared to max out at 80.) when all the sudden a car pulls left in front of me. I had all but a fraction of a second to react. I downshifted 2 gears n started on the brakes. My rear end locked up slid right hard. Peg started to hit the ground and make sparks. I still held onto the bike. It all happened in slow motion it seemed.

I ended up being able to bring the bike back up right and pull away without touching the car.

Off-duty lafd followed me off the freeway to make sure i was ok...i got off on the next exit. I was pretty shaken up.

I should have died..plain n simple...idk how i did what i did or how i am still here. Ive been riding on the street for 6 years. I know what im doing. I dont ride like a jackass with cars around and i dont ride in blind spots.

I drive past the marks everyday on my way home from work.

Feeling like i should quit riding....i really should have died. There is no doubt in my mind that there is a god.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Glad that you didn't buy it that time.

I think it was a function of your skills and reflexes that saved you.

Riding is dangerous- we all probably know people who've been injured or died from accidents while riding.

Once you get some perspective on this, you may want to invest in further rider training to hone your skills for the next time you'll need them.

It may have been god. It may have been you and luck. We'll never know.

Keep the shiny side up.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im gonna go with it being luck. When she cut me off she left bout a foot gap from her rear bumper n my front tire.

·
Registered
25 Posts