SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Earlier in the year I picked up some Goldens to run in the OVRP and SMEC races. I had never used them before, but didn't hear great things. I saw a few friends try them with mixed results. I wanted to try them myself. I am racing against some people for money this year who will see this, so I don't want to give away too many details but I do want to give what I found as a general guideline for other people thinking of trying these so you know what to expect. Disclaimer: I am not a professional, take this as you please. I also do not get paid by SMEC, OVRP, GoldenTyre or anyone else to ride. I'd love to know if you find anyone who will :lol:

Bike:
2004 KTM 525 EXC
17" Front and Rear
5" Rear
Stock suspension, stock engine

Tires:
GoldenTyre Racing Pro 120/70-R17 Front
GoldenTyre Racing Pro 162/55-R17 Rear

Track Conditions:
~70-75F
Clear, Sunny skies
No wind

I had these Michelins on my bike before this and really liked them.

Goldens Mounted:

Michelin is kind of known for pointy front tires and soft carcass constructions giving quick heat up times, quick turn in, and a good bit of movement before totally losing grip (forgiving). Some people like those things, some people don't, but that's what I came to enjoy and was used to. It was going to be pretty hard to beat how well setup and comfortable I felt on those tires. I went to a track I am very familiar with and have been to probably 5-6 times now. Jay (smythe) gave me some advice on what direction to go with the setup when I bought the tires and it was definitely good advice.