SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to supermotos (new to anything that doesn't have 4 cylinders actually...) and I just bought a 2008 SMR 510 with the factory power up kit, 3500 miles on it.

Bike runs awesome, lots of power. Only thing I noticed was if it's idling and I blip the throttle hard, it will die 1 out of every 4 times I do that (assuming that is because it only has one cylinder?).

I did an oil/filter change + 3 oil screen washing right when I got it home (as well as checked everything that I've read needs checking on this site and in the owner's manual, actually had a broken fuel light bracket, so I fixed that as well) just for semi-peace of mind. The strange thing is, when I let all of the old oil out, it smelled like gas (could not smell anything that smelled even remotely like oil). The color, thickness, and feel of it was actually really good (like normal oil), it just smelled like gas.

Anyways, my question is what could cause this? I know my crankcase ventilation should be working because when I blew into the oil fill hole, air came out of the ventilation tube attached to the valve cover, and when I blew through that, it was not clogged (heard air sounds in the intake filter area). However, the crankcase ventilation system is not a PCV system, as in it has no valve that only lets air flow one way, so does the fuel smelling air from the intake get into the engine oil and make it all smell like gas in there or is there something wrong with my engine?

Thanks,
Ruebs

Side Note: When I took the gas tank off to fix the fuel light sensor, I noticed that gas was pouring out of the fuel pump nipple non-stop. Thought that was weird because that doesn't happen on my CBR...

·
Registered
913 Posts
The gas coming out of the fuel pump nipple is normal. You gotta put a vacuum cap on it asap once you pull the line off.