SuperMoto Junkie banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to SM and considering doing my SM conversion with a set of 17" Warp 9 tubeless forged wheels on my FE 501. I will be riding street, mountain and track days. Can anyone out there share some experience (good, bad or indifferent) with a tubeless forged vs spoke'd set up?
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
You plan on jumping the bike a lot? If so then forged wheels may not be the best idea. Spoke'd wheels can handle some more abuse like that.

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
Ill second that. One main reason to go cast or forged is to go tubeless. Alpina also makes spoked tubeless rims but are a good but more money. The tubes add weight and also affect how the tire heats up on the track.

·
Super Moderator
1,766 Posts
Spokes are stronger, Marchesinis are the best forged but like 3 grand and Alpina are the best spoked tubeless wheels but also are super spendy.

You can make spoked wheels tubeless ;) I have don it to a lot of wheel sets. But I also have set of Alps and Marchis and made my Exel/Talons tubeless.

Reactions: shift1313

·
Super Moderator
1,766 Posts
True. I had mixed results trying to convert rims to tubeless with gorilla tape and rtv on the spoke nipples. I am much more confident in my alpinas ;)
You were soing it wrong. 6 years on one set and 10 on another wuth the way I do it. I use 3m 4412n extreme sealing tape ;)

See? Now you have another excuse to come visit me haha

Attachments

Reactions: shift1313

·
Registered
1 Posts
So you just use 3m 4412 tape on the rim and that does the job?? Do you do anything else to make secure the tape to combat the tape coming loose from the wheel spinning at 100+ mph? If it's just the tape then I'm def gonna try this on the wheels I'm building right now!

·
Super Moderator
1,766 Posts