SuperMoto Junkie banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry I am new at this. What is the difference in the FI vs carb bikes. i am just want to know what are the advantages and disadvantages of the 2, because I am looking at the 07 and 08 Husqvarna and I'm not sure which will be better for me.

Thanks

·
Registered
231 Posts
Well in my experience it seems like FI bikes have more potential, they are simple to tune and you get a more responsive throttle. You can pull a ton of power out of a carb'd motor, but it takes more time, precision and work it seems like. First time i had a FI bike it was actually a quad (raptor 700R) and i loved it. Drop in your Power Commander and tune on the fly, so much simpler than replacing needles and rejetting.

Edit: FI bikes can stay leaned over on their sides witout leaking too. No problem with long wheelies or sitting at a weird angle in the back of your truck.

·
Registered
162 Posts
I like card personally, well tuned it's like a bomb.

But FI is great to :

Carb are tuned to a given temperature and a given pressure (altitude), so it cannot be optimal everywhere.
FI is auto-tuned everytime... whatever your altitude, temperature etc... so it works better.

·
Registered
8,634 Posts
FI is inevitable and has its benefits. 95% dont understand how to accurately jet or keep a carb jetted threw out the day to keep the bike 100% perfect.

How many Drag Race/NASCAR/Stock car racers run FI??? I think there is more power to be made with a carb "if" you know how to set it up and keep it properly tuned.

·
Registered
191 Posts
FI is great. However, don't confuse the EFI on SM bikes as the same as a new car or truck. These are very simple throttle body injection units with minimal inputs from sensors. They will carry power better than carbs over wider ranges of conditions. Despite many peoples adversion to FI, they are much easier to tune: with a PC not a wrench.

·
Premium Member
6,598 Posts