SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone first post here. I started the same thread over on ThumperTalk 2 days ago with no responses so I figured I’d try it out over here.

I’ve been riding for 10 years all sport bikes. I had an 05 R6 then an 01 Aprilia RSV Mille R then I recently sold my beloved ‘16 Aprilia Tuono 1100 to clear some debt I had laying around.

I’ve been non-stop searching for my new bike since the day I sold my Tuono. My budget is around 6Kish but flexible for the right bike. For last few months I’ve been exclusively looking at Supermotos. Mainly the DRZ-400SM. My plan is to buy one around $4K and rebuild the engine (half the fun and reason I’ve been looking at DRZs). Stroker, 434 BBK, 39 or 41mm carb (haven’t decided which) stage 2 cams, MRDpipe. You get the idea... that should put me all in for roughly $6-6500. (Correct me if I’m wrong)

I was looking at KTM 690s but they seem to run about $7K with like 20K miles. I haven’t really considered anything else because of maintenance. I’m not trying to do 500 mile oil changes. Frequent valve checks don’t bother me again, I don’t shy away from the maintenance I just shy away from spending a lot in consumables.

This will be a daily rider to and from work with some highway. Reliability and relatively low maintenance while still having over 50 ponies is what I’m after. I feel like the DRZ covers that even with the mods I plan to do. This will be used exclusively on road. No off road riding.

My main question is should I be considering anything else and is there a flaw in my plan I’m not seeing?
Thanks guys glad to be here!

·
Registered
90 Posts