SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello SMJ my name is Brent, I have been riding for 17 years, and I finally got myself onto a supermoto bike at the beginning of this summer. I did a lot of research and ended up buying a Suzuki DRZ 400s. The bike has been great, no issues at all, decent power, and I've got to say this is the most capable bike ive ever ridden. I have done everything on this bike, long road trips, tight twisty trails, riding on fire trails, and carving up the twisties. I love everything about this bike except it’s too heavy and too slow. Before anyone suggests to just modify the bike, and + the HP i have thought about it and i feel like it would be a waste of $$$ because the bike will always be heavy. With the experience i have gained riding this summer i now have a little different wants in my bike. First off the bike will primarily be ridden on the street with occasional dirt days. I want the bike to be geared low-med RPM’s for cruising at 60mph all while having passing power at those speeds and a torque monster off the line. I know one bike can’t do everything but a true race/ hooligan bike is a must here :) Let me know what you think, experiences with these bikes, limitations, strengths, ext.

Options i have considered, but am open to anything…

1) Honda CRF450x
2) Honda XR650R
3) KTM 560 SMR
4) KTM 530 EXC
5) Aprilla SVX 550

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
the crf450x and also wr450 will will that need and still maintain electric start although more maintenance (oil changes). The XR650R will also get in there with work and a little extra speed than your looking for but also it will be heavy almost 40 lbs compared to the crfx and wr with no electric start.