SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm new to supermoto and i just got a crf150r small wheel. I honestly don't like the look of the 17'' or 12'' rims, and I'm on a really tight budget and need to keep it as cheap as possible. I found a michelin scooter wheel 100/90-14 and I was wondering if it would fit the stock small wheel rear rim and also how do you think it would perform and if they are too narrow for supermoto.
here's the link
http://www.bikebandit.com/avon-am63-viper-stryke-scooter-tire
This particular tire isn't the 100/90-14 but there are similar tires at this website.
thanks for the help.

·
Registered
330 Posts
You may have better luck than I did, but I recently tried a street tire on the 16" RB rear. The bead wouldn't hold very well. About 6 laps to be exact before it let go. The tire I used was too stiff to allow the bead lock to go in and still mount the tire. If you can't get a bead lock in, I wouldn't run it.

Just my 2 cents...

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
do you remember how similar the tire size was for that street tire you put on? like compared to the height and width of the dirt tire? or do street and dirt tires really act that much different?

·
Registered
734 Posts
do you remember how similar the tire size was for that street tire you put on? like compared to the height and width of the dirt tire? or do street and dirt tires really act that much different?
You should be able to run Bridgestone BT-45s without issue on the o.e. rims.

·
Registered
137 Posts
I ran a 130 rear on a set of stock rims, it was extremely difficult to mount, like almost impossible, but once they were on there I had no problems

·
Registered
205 Posts