SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I just made an account here at smj and love all the cool info i've learned, but I am still a noob at this whole supermoto setup. I know there are tons of threads like this but I was hoping for some help in my specific situation. I have an 05 wr450f and i'm planning on a supermoto conversion, but would like to keep it cheap/use the bare minimum. Larger brakes/ steel lines and other optionals will hopefully come later. I just want a hassle free, but more importantly, cheap way to get street/ supermoto tires and wheels on my bike. I know warp 9 setups can be done for around a grand but I was wondering if anyone has tried building thier own wheels with tusk hubs: https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/1073/41659/Tusk-Impact-Motorcycle-Hub-Front?0&term=tusk+hub and a spoke kit with some cheaper hoops. I was also wondering what wheel sizes would give me the least hassle- I don't really plan on racing so fitting the biggest tire possible isnt really the top priority for me. Finally, I was wondering what the whole deal is with wheel spacers. Will I need these with a warp 9 kit? What if I use those tusk hubs? Any help would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
657 Posts
The cheapest way out would be to get warp nine rims and spokes and use your stock hubs. That way you keep your speedometer drive as well.

A 4.25 rear rim and a 150 rear tire will give you the least amount of trouble chasing chain clearance solutions.

·
Registered
2,055 Posts