SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so a while back my 1.2Ah battery kicked the bucket on me. Dang thing was dead and wouldn't take a charge...so, I've been riding without a battery for a few months...not cool mind you. Stick to the daylight, use hand signals and switch off headlight prior to using the turn signals. Not a fun way to be doing things.

Without the battery the regulator, for lack of a better term goes apesh!t. The high and the lows don't cancel to a nice 13 or so volts. No, it's more like 8-9 vdc. Not at all ideal for things that are needing 12 volts.

So, I was looking around. Battery eliminator caps (that's capacitor for those of you that aren't cool enough to pick up on the lingo =P )run around $25-40 bucks from places like Trailtech. I'm looking at the pictures and I'm like yeah, that's ridiculous. Not knowing how well it would work I started searching around. Some guys on the Kawi 750 triples had written up a deal on them, and another over on some an SR site. So, kick start only bikes were running them no problem. Beings I am a 23 yr old manly man, I haven't invested in a e-button, cause well, those are for wussies. So, I went out in search of something to get my lights back up to snuff.

So, I'm surfing Ebay. I find a 16vdc 21000UF Phillips Cap with the nice screw terminals. went ahead and ordered it to check it out. The Kawi guys were saying use a 50000UF one, but damn that's a lot of current to pulse through the system when you hit the ignition switch (Yeah I have a husky key switch on mine wired with the kill switch and the battery to the instruments/lights) Anyway, I figure I'd give this one a shot (in comparison some of the SR guys said use a 9000UF to 15000UF one).