SuperMoto Junkie banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone has ridden both a steel cr500 and an 3rd gen af. Preferably the cr125 (02-07) frame, because that is what I would convert to. I have heard that the aluminum is too stiff for sumo and that the steel cr500s are better for street.

· Registered
1,616 Posts
I was wondering if anyone has ridden both a steel cr500 and an 3rd gen af. Preferably the cr125 (02-07) frame, because that is what I would convert to. I have heard that the aluminum is too stiff for sumo and that the steel cr500s are better for street.
i havent ridden both, but that statement reeks of bullshit.

the chassis geometry might be too twitchy, or something along those lines.. but there is no such thing as the frame being "too stiff"

· Registered
1,819 Posts
No experience with CR 5hunnies (maybe someday though! :D). However, I have plenty of experience with steel and aluminum frames. The idea that stiffer is better is definitely not necessarily true. Steel frames offer more elasticity and built in spring type flex giving better feel. Steel is real! I personally prefer my springy steel frames.

For street, I can't see where one would be better than the other. On the track, with hot sticky slicks, problems may arise from one or the other. For kicks, seach Alberto Rocca here or on youtube.

CR5hunnie = outrageous. :bowdown:

· Registered
9,331 Posts
I haven't heard the too stiff statement. But all frames are designed with some flex in mind. I do remember when the '97 CR250 came out with the new aluminum frame some riders complained that it was "harsh" feeling compared to the steel bike of a year before.

· Registered
921 Posts