SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this site however I thought I'd share my Supermoto build with you all. I recently pulled my old '84 model XR350R that I used to ride during my teens out of a shed at my Dad's and have decided to 'tard it. The bike is in good original condition, however it has been sitting in a farm shed for 10+ years, so it dirty, the plastics are badly faded and there is surface rust on lots of bits.

In building this bike I am going to endeavour to find a balance between the bling/performance of new bits, and the integrity and character of a mid 80's bike.

So far I have only stripped the bike down, however through trawling through the plethora of information on this forum have decided on a number of mod's and am slowing accumulating the parts i need.

Intended modifications/work

- sandblast frame, and powdercoat in (as close as possible) original colour
- XR 600 front forks and triple clamp
- 17 inch black Excel rims laced to the stock hubs (thinking 4.25 for the rear and 3.5 for the front, open to suggests tho!!)
- XR's Only header
- aftermarket top triple clamp so i cant bolt on a decent set of fat bars
- Easton bars and risers (I have these on an '02 CR250 - awesome bars)
- decent set of footpegs
- brakes im going to leave as standard, I may upgrade the front brake later on, but I will leave the rear swing and drum brake as original to maintain the integrity of the bike.
- new Maier rear guard and headlight suround

Things I'm undecided on..

- what muffler?!?!
- Supermoto front fender or aftermarket XR600 fender
- clarke tank
- original speedo or a digital aftermarket speedo

Things I need help...

- I cant seem to find any companies that manufacture aftermarket side panels for the 83/84 XR350's, I could probably salvage mine (they're not cracked just faded), however i was planning on replacing all the other plastics and would like fresh side panels as well