SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm brand new to this web site and brand new to the sport. I'm just getting ready to buy a set of wheels for my ktm exc 450 to get my feet wet. I just want to get as many peoples opinions as possible. I've asked a few people but not enough to be convinced either way.

Main Question: How important is using a 320mm front rotor? (I'll be keeping the stock caliper) I have 2 options on wheel sets to buy. One is a set of warp9's with the 320mm rotor; the other is a slighlty better brand with a standard dirt size front rotor.

I'm basically limiting myself to one of these two sets. Which should I go for?

Thanks,
Chris

·
Registered
184 Posts
Go for the better brakes. Nothing sucks like not being able to stop. You would probably buy the bigger rotor later anyhow.

David

·
Registered
1,219 Posts
Go for the better brakes. Nothing sucks like not being able to stop. You would probably buy the bigger rotor later anyhow.

David
This for sure. Just buy the necessary parts now and get the full potential out of your SM machine from the start.

·
Registered
976 Posts
Just to play devils advocate here, if your bike has the 270mm roto4, it a really capable piece. You could get the better rims, save up a bit, sell one or both of the stock rotors and get a really nice piece in the for sale here or on ebay, CL, etc. I just saw a 310 Berringer selll for like 100 bucks on ebay. I got my bike the next day and am still kicking myself.

·
Registered
1,800 Posts
the 320 makes a huge difference in braking performance. I wouldn't ride or do track/race days without it. You can get away with the stock size rotor, but it will suck.

Warp 9 makes great stuff, not top of the line, but very good. You will be happy.