SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've got a lot of questions from you experienced smcr owners.

First is there any upgrades for the headlight? I've seen a few around but the websights only say they are for 2018 enduro.

Next sprockets. I've done a lot of research on this and I decided to just go for a 44 tooth in the rear and I was looking at the supersprox stealth. It sounds like it should work with the aluminum center and steel teeth anyone have any experience with it? Also if I go from 42 to 44 in the rear will I need a longer chain? Also are their any benefits to getting a different chain?

Next is seat concepts is it really that much better then the stock?

Next handle bar risers is that a thing for supermoto? I've got poor riding posture and I feel like If my handlebars were a bit higher it would force me to sit more upright.

Next the traction controll and abs lights if they are on the Tc and abs are on if the lights are off then they are off correct? Or is there more to it then that? The manual was a bit vague with those details.

I already own a 2012 heritage classic and a 2018 bmw r1200 gas adventure and picked up my 19 smcr 4 days ago so chains sprockets and supermotos are still new to me but any help would be appreciated.

·
Read Only
1,275 Posts
Can give a few suggestions to a few of your Q’s

1. You might get away with adding 2 teeth to the rear. Probably not.
Try adjusting the wheel full forward and see if you think you have enough spare?
An option is a second joining link, and a “half link” - need to be the same brand. Potentially difficult.
- One tooth off the front would be a similar change, without needing a new chain.
(15/42 = 2.8. 15/44 = 2.933. 14/42 = 3 - slightly lower.)
- As I’ve written on here before On my 2017 701SM. I was going to lower the gearing, until I got it “tuned”. Now I feel it doesn’t need it, at all.)
Supersprox Alloy/Steel would be a great option.