SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm still learning about fuel injection as I just got this bike in the spring, a 2010 690SMC. I was out on a very twisty highway ride with some friends last weekend and I suddenly saw the speedo drop dead to zero, lay there dead, and then suddenly resurrect itself back to reality, and there was no noticeable change in engine rpms or running condition when it happened, but it appeared to be flashing dat 11, soft 33, then when I turn it off it flashes those two codes again, FI light comes on, then everything turns off.. Just wondering if anyone has any insight. I just took it out tonight and it seemed OK running wise but still flashed those when I got home.It's a long weekend and I'd like to get a ride in if possible...
Cheers
Jon

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hmmmm, have done a lot of digging online this morning. Thought I'd post up my results if anyone else has this happen...

I found a post about a KTM 990 with a soft 33 code, and it appears that what I'm seeing is the software version - I guess when the bike's battery is weak it will flash this... I just pulled out the battery and tested it at 12.8V, so put it on the charger till it seemed to top out at 13.12, cleaned the terminals, and when I put it back in the bike, the same SOFT 33, DAT 11 codes popped up, so I think that's what's happening as from what I'm reading, when the battery gets in need of a refresh it will display these codes. The FI light just lights up once, and the codes are displayed where the trip meter normally is; there is no flashing of the FI light. It will display these too whenever I shut the bike off, for some reason.

I'll order up a new battery next week.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Hmmmm, have done a lot of digging online this morning. Thought I'd post up my results if anyone else has this happen...