SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
on my 06 sm610 with 27k. i've never done a leak-down test before but i know the bike is losing power somewhere. it's weeping oil and coolant from around the head gasket anyways.

the cam chain is ok but im going to leak-down test to see where power is going. figure with this much mileage i'll probably have to replace the head-gasket and the four studs that secure the jug to the block. maybe even the rings. i;ve replaced the camchain before so i have a flywheel puller and know the generic gaskets i'll need to replace. but what else should i consider ordering before the disassamble the engine? also, just I adjust the valves before doing a leak-down test?

im bored after highsiding and spend my days like a cat looking for a comfortable place to sit since my stomach looks like this.

·
Registered
444 Posts
Oh dude, that is soooooo ugly!

Good luck with the rebuild and hope you get to feeling better. Was your highside on the track or street?

·
Premium Member
4,683 Posts
I would replace the rings almost regardless. You're going that far in anyways.. Also inspect the cam chain tensioner for spring function, Cam chain obviously like you said, ummm Check clutch plates for wear. Leak down is a good idea in case your valvetrain needs some help :thumbup:

Sorry to hear about the wreck, looks painful!

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
tee-highside on the street on new tires. i was fine on the outside but it took me two hours to realize i was bleeding internally. didn't die though.

jr-is it worth replacing the rings without boring the cylinder? if any boring is needed, can i use oversized rings on the stock piston?

·
Registered
363 Posts
Yowzers. Get better, man.

·
Premium Member
4,683 Posts
tee-highside on the street on new tires. i was fine on the outside but it took me two hours to realize i was bleeding internally. didn't die though.