SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought my first SM about a month ago. The guy who owned it before me changed the sprockets to 16Front 47Rear. Ive done a 3x3 mod and rejetted with the JD jet kit, Blue needle 3rd clip, 155 Main jet, 25 Pilot jet, air screw 2.5 turns out. The mods i made gave it more throttle responce and it pulls harder and way smoother after the mods.

It seems like i have to work pretty hard to do wheelies with the sprocket setup it has on it now. I can roll on 1st pretty hard and get it up, but in 2nd I have to work extremely hard to get it up, I can clutch it pretty hard and still only get the wheel up about 1-2 feet.
For the record im not a wheelie expert by any means but my 2002 YZ250F dirt bike is hella easy to wheelie and maybe the difference in bikes is a hard transition to me. My Drz cruises at reasonable RPMS at 60-65 I really dont wanna kill my cruising speed but i want to be able to wheelie a little easyer.
So with that said should I do a sprocket change or am i just weak and need to keep practicing.?
any help is appreciated..i have the stock sprockets BTW..
thanks

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
Drop Front sprocket back to 15 or go to a 14. Bike will come up easy then... Downfall, you will loose some top end with a change to 15 and more with 14. FYI 15/41 is stock.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i really like the 60-65mph rpms the way it is..if i changed to a 15 front you think 55-60mph rpms would feel like they do now at 60-65.?

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
It would drop your cruising speed about 5mph. I ran 15/43 and wished I went with 14/41,43 but I live in the Mtns of Western Northcarolina. I liked the lower gear,to help under powered bike get out of corners. If you have the 15 just swap it out..... Doesnt take long and will fit chain.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·