SuperMoto Junkie banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took the bike out to make a quick trip to the auto store. On the way there the bike ran fine, on the way back I managed to run out of gas. Put it on reserve, made it to a gas station and filled it up. Went to fire the bike up and it didn't want to turn over at all, actually managed to kill the battery and had to get a jump. After the bike started it was idling real rough and ran like crap.

Little background: I bought the bike in March and it has sat with gas in it until now. I have no idea how long the gas has been in the tank but it ran fine last weekend and today until I filled up. I put some SeaFoam in the fuel right after I filled up but before I tried to start it. I filled my truck up this morning at the same station and I haven't had any problems (truck uses premium too).

Any ideas on what it could be? I am new to carbureted bikes so this is like black magic to me. I guess the first place to start would be to pull and clean the carbs, anyone have a decent write up or can point me in the right direction on how to do this?

On another note how do I know if the bike is running rich or lean? Is it as easy as pulling the spark plug and seeing how it looks? The bike backfires a little when I downshift at higher RPMs but besides that seems to be okay.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,465 Posts
Sounds like a fuel problem. Plus, you might have sucked a little trash or water when you ran out of gas.

For a proper plug check, you really need to run the bike at the throttle position that's problematic. 1/4, 1/2, WFO or whatever. Mark the grip and throttle housing with tape as reference. With engine warm, run the bike at the desired position steady, pull in the clutch and kill the engine. So you need tools and a good stretch of road.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·